Skip to content

Town of North Stonington

Town of North Stonington

Categories

Government

About

www.northstoningtonct.gov

 

40 Main Street, North Stonington, CT 06359

 

Named in 1724 for the stony character of the hilly countryside, North Stonington was incorporated in 1807. Farms, mills, tanneries, iron works and cottage weaving contributed to a prosperous and renowned mercantile center in the 1800s. Changing times have left dairy farming the principal industry. North Stonington includes the settlements of Clarks Falls, Laurel Glen, Pendleton Hill, Ashwillet and the village of North Stonington, formerly known as "Milltown" and now listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Roots of North Stonington date back to the early settlement of the Town of Stonington in 1649. Originally under the jurisdiction of the Massachusetts colony, the area became part of Connecticut when Governor Winthrop obtained a new Charter for Connecticut from King Charles II in 1662.

 

Modern day North Stonington is a bustling village filled with rich history and large tract multi-generational heritage farms.  Our agricultural fair is the first of the season held in early July every year.  Enjoy a beautiful Sunday drive and enjoy the bucolic setting of rolling fields, stone walls, beautiful barns and farm stands on a hot summer afternoon. Welcome Home!

Images

Powered By GrowthZone
Scroll To Top